A Simple Favor: Gone Girl Meets The Heat (Yup, Really!)
3.9Overall Score
Reader Rating 0 Votes

Acclaimed comedy director Paul Feig (Bridesmaids, The Heat, Spy, Ghostbusters) tests his skills in the mystery/thriller genre in this adaptation of the Darcey Bell novel starring Anna Kendrick as a widowed, stay-at-home mom/vlogger who gets immersed in a mystery after her glamorous new best friend (Blake Lively) suddenly goes missing from their small town in Connecticut. Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train cannot help but notice the almost clone-like similarities in all of these twist-filled stories, but where this film differs is in Feig’s addition of some serious camp (and belly laughs), and strangely enough, it actually works. Kendrick and Lively are both terrific, as is Henry Golding (Crazy Rich Asians) as Lively’s hubby. And while this over-the-top story heads into some downright goofy territory by its finale, it is a fun, entertaining ride.

 

This review originally appeared on TheReelness.com.